Home

Helpful ESL Links

Contents:

Grammar Explanations and Exercises

EnglishPage.Com (http://www.englishpage.com) Free online English lessons & ESL / EFL resources. Great explanations and exercises.

Learning English Grammar Online (http://www.englisch-hilfen.de/en/grammar_list/alle.htm) Many grammar exercises and explanations.

The Grammar Corner (http://joaojardim.no.sapo.pt/the_grammar_corner.htm) Lots of grammar practice.

The English Page (http://www.englishpage.com)

ESL Partyland (http://www.eslpartyland.com/ )

English Grammar Guide (http://www.edufind.com/english/grammar )

EL Easton (http://eleaston.com/grammar.html)

Exploring English (http://www.sharedvisions.com/?sid=1)

English Club (https://www.englishclub.com/grammar/index.htm)

Purdue University - Grammar and Mechanics (https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/678/01/)

University of Victoria - Study Zone (http://web2.uvcs.uvic.ca/elc/studyzone/grammar.htm)

UsingEnglish.com (http://www.usingenglish.com/quizzes/)



Tips for Writing an Effective Paragraph

Dewey's Tips for Paragraph Writing (click here) Step-by-step instructions using an example that Dewey has used in his English classes.



Listening Links on the Internet and for Practice

Great Sites for Lower Levels

English Listening - (http://www.englishlistening.com) Many authentic-sounding listening with quizzes, transcripts, and vocabulary. $3/months gives you access to 100s of listenings.

ELLLO - (http://www.elllo.org/english/home.htm) Many listenings at different levels with quizzes, transcripts, and vocabulary.

VOA Learning English - (http://learningenglish.voanews.com/) Many listenings at different levels with transcripts and some video.

Great Sites for University Prep

YouTube Lecture on Economics (http://youtube.com/watch?v=gaEY-p-21F8&feature=related) This is an 8-minute lecture talks about economics.

Open Forum Listening Textbook (http://www.oup.com/elt/global/products/openforum) This site has lots of listenings, quizzes (with the answers), and transcripts from a series of listening textbooks, high beginning to advanced.

Free Classis Audio Books (http://www.freeclassicaudiobooks.com/) If you like to listen to stories, this site is great. There are around 40 different classis stories to choose from.

CNN Student News (http://edition.cnn.com/studentnews/) Up-to-date CNN Student News Videos, questions, and transcripts. Click here for the archives of past shows.

Another CNN Site from California w/script and quizzes (http://literacynet.org/cnnsf/home.html) Here's a great site for you to practice your listening on your own. You can watch the video, hear the story, read the story, and there are even quizzes for you to take. Try it out.

Living on Earth (http://www.loe.org) This site is from a radio program about the Earth and environment. There are hundreds of stories with transcripts (some short and some long).

Pulse of the Planet (http://www.pulseplanet.com) Great 2-minute stories about the Earth (with transcripts). 

CBC (http://www.cbc.ca) The Canadian Broadcasting Corp.

Quirks and Quarks (http://www.cbc.ca/quirks/) A show from the CBC where you can learn about the latest in science, technology, medicine, and the environment.

As It Happens (http://www.cbc.ca/asithappens/) Light news and entertainment from the CBC broadcast on the radio on AM540 weekdays at 6:30pm.

Ideas (http://www.cbc.ca/ideas/) A one-hour show produced by the CBC radio with lectures/discussions on various current issues.

The National (http://www.cbc.ca/national/) Evening news on CBC television. Check out the ARCHIVE for lots of videos.

CNN (http://www.cnn.com) Cable News Network

NPR (http://www.npr.org) National Public Radio (USA) Sites with lots of Podcasts/MP3s

Business Story of the Day (from National Public Radio) Click here to go to a page with three or so interesting stories about business.

Podcast Alley (http://www.podcastalley.com/) A directory of 100s of podcasts available on the web with a list of the most popular.

Dewey's Listening Page (http://homepage.usask.ca/~dul381/listenings/) Exercises, quizzes, and links to Internet listening opportunities for various levels.

Randall's ESL Cyber Listening Lab (http://www.esl-lab.com/) This is a great site with various levels for general listening practice.

E.L. Easton (http://eleaston.com/pronunciation/) American English Pronunciation Practice

American English Pronunciation Practice (http://www.manythings.org/pp/) Lots of practice with pronunciation, especially with minimal pairs, like "bus" and "boss"



Reading Help

Improve Your Reading Through Double-Entry Journals (http://homepage.usask.ca/~dul381/common/dej.html) Instructions and examples for an interactive approach to reading.

Saskatoon Public Library (http://www.publib.saskatoon.sk.ca/) You can search the catalogue to find all sorts of books, magazines,videos, and more.

Online Newspapers and Magazines:

Canadian Geographic (http://www.canadiangeographic.ca/) A magazine focusing on places in Canada and environmental topics.

Discover (http://discovermagazine.com/) A popular magazine about science and nature.

Maclean's (http://www.macleans.com) A Canadian news magazine similiar to Time.

National Geographic (http://www.nationalgeographic.com/) A popular magazine about geography, science, and nature around the world. A great interactive site.

Reading (http://www.rong-chang.com/reading.htm)


General ESL Sites

Dave's ESL Cafe (http://www.daveseslcafe.com) This is one of the most famous ESL sites on the Web. There are many things to do and learn!

Rong-Chang Li's Site for English as a Second Language (http://www.rong-chang.com/) This site has many, many links to sites about English as a second language, including reading, writing, grammar, pronuciation, etc.


Last Revised: April 23, 2012
Copyright © 2007 (Dewey Litwiller)