Princess Mononoke

(Mononoke Hime)



Premiere Release Date: September 18, 1999

Official Release Date: November 26, 1999

Original Japanese Premiere: July 12, 1997

Copyright: Nibariki TNDG © 1997 [Tokuma Shoten, Nippon Television Network, Dentsu, Studio Ghibli]

Released by: Miramax Films

MPAA Rating: PG-13 (Parents Strongly Cautioned ~ Some Material May Be Inappropriate For Children Under 13) for Images of Violence and Gore

Length: 133 Minutes


This listing is only for Disney’s English language dub of the Studio Ghibli film. While Disney does own a controlling right in later Studio Ghibli films, and created the English language dub of this film, they do not own any copyright to this as far as I can tell.


Cast Characters Songs Awards



            Gillian Anderson ~ Moro

            Corey Burton ~ Additional Voice

            Jennifer Cihi ~ Tatara Women's Song

            Billy Crudup ~ Ashitaka

            Claire Danes ~ San

            Keith David ~ Okkoto; Additional Voice

            John DeMita ~ Kohroku; Additional Voice

            Julia DeMita ~ Additional Voice

            Debi Derryberry ~ Additional Voice

            John DiMaggio ~ Gonza; Additional Voice

            Minnie Driver ~ Lady Eboshi

            Alex Fernandez ~ Additional Voice

            Jack Fletcher ~ Additional Voice

            Pat Fraley ~ Additional Voice

            Joe Hisaishi ~ Piano

            John Hostetter ~ Additional Voice

            Leslie Ishii ~ “Tatara Women's Song”

            Sasha Lazard ~ “Princess Mononoke Theme Song (Mononoke Hime)”

            John Rafter Lee ~ Additional Voice

            Jessica Lynn ~ Additional Voice

            Sherry Lynn ~ Additional Voice

            Tress MacNeille ~ Additional Voice

            Mary E. McGlynn ~ “Tatara Women's Song”

            Matt McKenzie ~ Additional Voice

            Michael McShane ~ Additional Voice

            Matt Miller ~ Additional Voice

            Marnie Mosiman ~ Additional Voice

            Adam Paul ~ Additional Voice

            Jada Pinkett Smith ~ Toki

            David Rasner ~ Additional Voice

            Dwight Schultz ~ Additional Voice

            Pamela Segall Adlon ~ Additional Voice

            Tara Strong ~ Additional Voice

            Billy Bob Thornton ~ Jigo

            Tokyo City Philharmonic Orchestra ~ Orchestra

            K. T. Vogt ~ “Tatara Women's Song”; Additional Voice




            Ashitaka ~ Billy Crudup

            Gonza ~ John DiMaggio

            Jigo ~ Billy Bob Thornton

            Kohroku ~ John DeMita

            Lady Eboshi ~ Minnie Driver

            Moro ~ Gillian Anderson

            Okkoto ~ Keith David

            San ~ Claire Danes

            Toki ~ Jada Pinkett Smith




“Princess Mononoke Theme Song (Mononoke Hime)”

            Sasha Lazard

“Tatara Women's Song”

            Jennifer Cihi

            Leslie Ishii

            Mary E. McGlynn

            K. T. Vogt


            Tokyo City Philharmonic Orchestra


            Joe Hisaishi




2000 Annie Award Nominee ~ Outstanding Individual Achievement For Directing In An Animated Feature Production ~ Hayao Miyazaki for the English language version





This page was last edited on February 5, 2003.


Back To The Movie List