Glen S. Aikenhead

(Curriculum Studies, College of Education, 1971-2006)

Glen’s career at the U of S has focused on science education with a cross-cultural, particularly indigenous, perspective. He has been a significant contributor to the development of science curriculum and instruction. Over the past two decades, he has remained committed to application his research into improving student learning experience in cross-cultural contexts in Canada, U.S. and many other countries of Europe, Asia-Pacific and the Caribbean as well as doing assignments for the UNESCO. His pre-retirement honours include: Canadian Education Association’s Whitworth Award (1990); Canadian Education Researcher of the Year (1990); Canada 125 Commemorative Medal (1992). Following retirement, he held visiting professorships in Australia, Denmark, Japan and Taiwan. He has also continued to publish books and scholarly articles depicting the use of cross-cultural and indigenous perspectives in improving the quality of science education. In 2014, National Association for Research in Science Teaching honoured him with the Award for Distinguished Contributions to Science Education through Research.

David C. Carpenter

(English, College of Arts & Science, 1975-1998)

As author and editor of sixteen volumes, and as teacher, scholar, mentor, and leader of writers’ organizations, David has made a rich and sustained contribution to the Canadian and Saskatchewan literary world. David’s multi-award winning writing ranges across the genre of short story, novella, literary and mystery novel, nature- and life-writing, journalism, essay and poetry. His preretirement honours include: Saskatchewan Book Award (1997); City of Edmonton Book Prize (1998); and many other nominations. Among his many post-retirement honours are: Saskatchewan Centennial Medal (2005); City of Saskatoon Book Award (2009); Silver Medal for North American Short Fiction; Gold Medal for Canadian Fiction; Canadian Novella Award (2010); Saskatchewan Book of the Year (2011); Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence (2015). For his residential school memoir The Education of Augie Merasty, the Toronto Star hailed him as “one of the best people of 2015.”

Daniel Ish

(College of Law, 1975-2010)

Dan started his faculty career at the U of S in 1975. Soon he established himself as a beloved professor of tax and labour relations law. He developed an innovative focus on the law on cooperatives and was Director of the Centre for the Study of Cooperatives (1989-95). He served as the Dean of the College of Law during three different terms: 1982-88, 1996-87 & 2002-04. Following retirement, he became the Chief Adjudicator of the Indian Residential Schools Adjustment Secretariat as part of the agreed settlement process by courts in nine provinces to determine claims for compensation for thousands of residential school survivors. This process was reported to have resulted in awards of $3 billion to the residential school survivors. For his role in this process, Dan was made a member of the Order of Canada in 2014. Earlier, he was given the designation of Queen’s Counsel by the Province of Saskatchewan (1991).

Robin A. A. Morrall

(Biology, College of Arts & Science, 1965-1997)

Robin served as a faculty member of the Department of Biology for over thirty years. His work on plant diseases has been recognized nationally and internationally. His pioneering research laid the foundation for controlling sclerotina stem rot in canola and ascochyta blight in lentils, chickpeas and field peas in western Canada. Continuing long after his retirement, Robin undertook extensive off-campus work, offering advice, often literally in the field, to farmers concerning diseases and their management in their crops. He served as President of Canadian Phytopathological Society in 1993-94. His post-retirement honours include: Fellow of Canadian Phytopathological Society (2000) for outstanding service to the Society and to the profession of plant pathology; CPS Award for Achievements in Plant Diseases Management (2004); and most recently, induction to the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame (2016).