Equine Herpesvirus
(EHV-1, EHV-2, EHV-3, EHV-4 and EHV-5)

Image souce:  http://www.muralsforkids.com/images/WildHorses.jpg

There are nine types of Equine Herpesvirus.  EHV-1 and EHV-4 are of most significance, EHV-3 is of less significance, and EHV-2 and EHV-5 are clinically insignificant.  Equine herpesvirus 1,3 and 4 belong to the sub-family Alphaherpesvirinae, whereas equine herpesvirus 2 and 5  belong to the sub-family Gammaherpesvirinae.

Equine Herpesvirus - 1

Equine Herpesvirus - 2

Equine Herpesvirus - 3

Equine Herpesvirus - 4

Equine Herpesvirus - 5


Page Created by:
  Tyler Corbiell, Craig DeGroot and Curtis Read
This website should be considered supplemental information and not a replacement for a
veterinarians advice and peer reviewed literature.
This website was developed in March 2007 as a requirement for the Western College of Veterinary Medicine's VTMC 333 Virology Course